West Bengal: Electioneering campaign for Seventh Phase of Assembly Elections to conclude today

In the poll-bound West Bengal, the hitherto high-pitch electioneering campaign for the Seventh Phase of Assembly Elections concludes this evening on a subdued note. In view of rising cases of COVID-19, the Election Commission prohibited any road shows, Pad-Yatras, and vehicle rallies in light of non-adherence to the COVID protocols by many political parties.

In an order issued yesterday, the Central Poll body said that public meetings beyond the limit of 500 persons will not be allowed in the state. The new provisions will be in place till the conclusion of the polls.

Taking strong cognisance of the non-adherence of COVID protocols during campaigning by several political parties, the Commission reiterated its direction to all the political parties to strictly adhere to the COVID protocols in all the future rallies in the state. Earlier, the poll body decided to curtail the campaign timing for the remaining phases of eight-phase Assembly Elections.

The Commission banned campaigning from 7 P.M. to 10 A.M. on all days, when it is allowed. It also extended the Silence Period from 48 hours to 72 hours before polling for the remaining phases and as a result, the campaign will end this evening.

In the wake of COVID-19, all the prominent political parties decided not to hold big rallies and public meetings in West Bengal. Prime Minister and Senior BJP leader Narendra Modi will virtually address the voters in Malda, Murshidabad and Birbhum districts and state capital Kolkata today. Chief Minister and AITC Chief Mamata Banerjee has also cancelled all the scheduled public meetings and said, she will be reaching out to people virtually for the last two phases of the Assembly Elections in the state. The polling process is already over in respect of 223 out of the total 294 Assembly seats in the earlier six phases.

During the Seventh Phase, total 268 candidates including 37 women will be vying for the 34 out of previously scheduled 36 Assembly seats spread over five districts of West Bengal going to polls on Monday as the poll process in respect of Samserganj and Jangipur was adjourned by the Election Commission following deaths of the candidates in the two Assembly Constituencies.

Over 81.88 lakh voters including 39.87 lakh women and 221 Third Gender persons will decide the fate of these candidates. Total 11,376 Polling Stations have been set up for this purpose. Ruling AITC and Bharatiya Janata Party are contesting for all the 34 seats. Congress, Left parties and their alliance partner Indian Secular Front are fighting under the banner of Sanyukta Morcha. Bahujan Samaj Party has fielded 25 candidates, Congress has 18, CPI (M) – 12, ISF – four, RSP- three and AIFB – one while there are 63 independents along with 74 others are also in the fray.

The prominent candidates participating in this phase include State Ministers and AITC candidates Subrata Sah from Sagardighi, Firhad Hakim from Kolkata Port, Subrata Mukherjee from Ballygunge,Malay Ghatak from Asansol Uttar along with Sovondev Chattopadhyay who is taking on BJP candidate and actor Rudranil Ghosh from Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s erstwhile constituency of Bhabanipur.  BJP has fielded noted Economist Ashoke Kumar Lahiri from Balurghat  and former Mayor of Asansol Kumar Jitendra Twari from Pandabeswar while CPI (M) Central Committee Member Abhas Roy Chowdhury from Durgapur Purba, Congress leaders Mostaque Alam from Harishchandrapur, Mainul Haque from Farakka and Abu Hena from Lalgola are also in the fray. In addition, Jawaharlal Nehru University Students Union President Aishi Ghosh is the CPI (M) candidate from Jamuria while BJP candidate and Fashion Designer Agnimitra Paul and AITC candidate are vying with each other in Asansol Dakshin.

Meanwhile, the election campaign is in full swing for the Eighth and Final Phase of the Assembly Elections as the prominent leaders of different political parties engaging in whirlwind tours for canvassing in favour of their candidates. The remaining 35 Assembly Constituencies spread over four districts will go to polls in the Eighth and Final Phase on 29th of April. The counting of votes will be taken up together on 2nd of May.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission issued fresh poll notifications in respect of Samserganj and Jangipur Assembly Constituencies. The polling in these two constituencies will now be held on 13th of May and the whole process of elections will be completed by 18th of May. Similarly, in case of Assembly By-poll to Pipili seat in Odisha, the polling will now be held on 16th of May and the counting of votes will be taken up on 19th of May.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies