Vijay Kumar Sinha elected as Bihar Assembly Speaker

Senior BJP leader and NDA nominee Vijay Kumar Sinha was today elected as the new speaker of Bihar Assembly. Protem Speaker Jitan Ram Manjhi announced the election result of Assembly speaker. Mr Manjhi said Vijay Kumar Sinha got 126 votes while Grand Alliance candidate Awadh Bihari Choudhary got 114 votes.

Opposition parties were demanding secret voting for election of assembly speaker. They were protesting the presence of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and his two cabinet colleagues as they are not members of the assembly. Chief Minister and two ministers Ashok Choudhary and Mukesh Sahni are members of the upper house.

New Bihar Assembly Speaker Vijay Kumar Sinha  is four time MLA from Sheikhpura constituency. In the previous Nitish Kumar led  government Mr Sinha was labour minister.Chief Minister Nitish Kumar,Deputy Chief Ministers Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi congratulated the new assembly speaker.

Besides opposition leader Tejaswi Yadav , Congress leader Ajit Sharma,Hindustani Awam Morcha( HAM) leader Jitan Ram Manjhi , Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) leader  Mukesh Sahni and CPI( ML) Mehboob Alamalso also  congratulated new Speaker.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies