Video | Srinagar gears up for polls

  • 2

DC Srinagar Shahid Iqbal Choudhary has said that sufficient deployment of security forces and officers has been done in hypersensitive Srinagar to avoid voter intimidation and untoward incident. Srinagar goes to polls on April 18.

DC said, “Central Armed Police Force, Police Forces, Micro Observers, magisterial officers have been deployed in sufficient numbers to check voter intimidation and violation of model code of conduct.”

“Webcasting from 88 polling stations and complete videography will be done for smooth and transparent conduct of elections. A voter’s help desk has also been established for facilitating voters.”

“Senior citizens and specially-abled voters have been identified across the constituency. Assistance and facilities have been provided for them at the polling stations, for instance, wheelchairs.”

He also issued order banning sale of liquor in the district. The order banning the sale of liquor across the jurisdiction of the Srinagar district comes into effect from 6 pm today and will be valid until 10 am April 19.

With the end of campaigning in Srinagar, he banned political activities around designated polling stations in the district.

The Srinagar constituency is spread over 15 Assembly segments comprising three districts of Central Kashmir-Ganderbal, Srinagar and Budgam with 1,295,304 registered voters including 1,294,560 General voters and 744 service voters.

The number of polling stations in Srinagar is 1710, most of them being hypersensitive.


The candidates in the fray are Sheikh Khalid Jehangir of Bharatiya Janata Party, Aga Syed Mohsin of J&K Peoples Democratic Party, Abdul Rashid Ganie of J&K National Panthers Party, Dr Farooq Abdullah of Jammu and Kashmir National Conference, Showkat Hussain Khan of Janta Dal-United, Abdul Khaliq Bhat of Shiv Sena, Irfan Raza Ansari of J&K People’’s Conference, Nazir Ahmad Lone of Rashtriya Jankranti Party, Nazir Ahmad Sofi of Manavadikar National Party, while Bilal Sultan, Sajjad Ahmad Dar, Abdul Rashid Banday are contesting as independent candidates.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here