The Lead The Newsfeed

UT govt sanctions SOG and BDS as specified category of JKP; 03 IGsP, other IPS officers cleared for promotion

DGP J&K thanks Lt. Governor, JK Administration

Jammu, January 20: The Director General of Police, J&K, Shri Dilbag Singh on behalf of Jammu and Kashmir Police has expressed gratitude to the Government of Jammu and Kashmir for sanction of  Special Operation Group and Bomb Disposal Squads as a classified category of Jammu Kashmir Police. He has also thanked JK administration for clearing promotion of IGsP, DIsG and other IPS officers of Jammu Kashmir Police.

Singh while thanking the Hon’ble Lt. Governor Jammu & Kashmir Shri Manoj Sinha, Chief Secretary J&K Shri B. V. R. Subrahmanyam, Home secretary Shri Shaleen Kabra has said that the sanction would give a formal structure to elite wings of Jammu and Kashmir police and enable drawl of the hardship allowance for specified category of JK Police. He said this will boost the morale of the Jawans and motivate them for better performance in challenging circumstances.

DGP has also congratulated the IPS officers and their families who have been cleared for the promotion by the Departmental Promotion Committee yesterday. He has wished them all the best and good luck.

He also expressed his gratitude to Hon’ble Home Minister and Union Home Secretary for their clearance to hold DPC in respect of IPS officers due for promotion as on First of January 2021 in the erstwhile JK cadre.

The Home Department has issued an order with reference to the government order No 72-F of 2019 of 16 January 2019 and government order No Home-878 of 2019 dated 1 August 2019 to this effect. The decision will benefit 2288 officers and Jawans working on anti terror front and 179 Bomb Disposal Squad personnel of Jammu and Kashmir Police.

Meanwhile, the Departmental Promotion Committee (DPC) which met under the chairmanship of Chief Secretary J&K B. V. R. Subrahmanyam, Advisor to Hon’ble LG Ladakh Umang Narula, Home secretary J&K Shaleen Kabra and DGP J&K Dilbag Singh has cleared the promotion of 1996 batch IPS officers to the rank of ADGP which includes   IGP Jammu Zone Shri Mukesh Singh ,IGP Crime J&K M. K. Sinha,  and IGP Armed Jammu Zone Shri Danesh Rana.

The DPC also cleared  three DIsG of 2007 IPS batch DIG Udhampur Reasi Range Sujit Kumar, DIG Jammu Kathua Samba Range Vivek Gupta, DIG North Kashmir Range M. Suleman Choudhary  for confirmation as DIsG and DIG Doda Kishtwar Ramban Range Shri Abdul Jabbar for selection grade level 13 (IPS,  2008 Batch)

2017 IPS batch officers Shri Nikhil Borkar, Mohita Sharma, Tanushree and Anayat Choudhary have been cleared for promotion as SSP in the said DPC.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies