Union Council of Ministers expanded; 43 Ministers including 15 Cabinet Ministers take oath following all COVID protocols

Forty three Ministers were sworn in to the Union Council of Ministers as Prime Minister Narendra Modi inducted many new faces. They include 15 Cabinet Ministers and 28 Ministers of State. BJP leaders Narayan Rane, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Sarbananda Sonowal, Dr Virendra Kumar,   Ashwini Vaishnaw and Bhupendra Yadav and R C P Singh of JD(U) and Pashupati Kumar Paras of LJP were sworn in as Cabinet Ministers. Union Ministers Hardeep Singh Puri, Mansukh Mandaviya, Kiren Rijiju, Raj Kumar Singh, G Kishan Reddy, Parshottam Rupala and  Anurag Thakur were also elevated to the rank of Cabinet Ministers. President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath of office and Secrecy today at a Ceremony organized at the Rashtrapati Bhavan while following all COVID protocols.

BJP MPs Pankaj Chaudhury, S P Singh Baghel, Rajeev Chandrasekhar, Sobha Karandlaje, Bhanu Pratap Singh Verma, Darshana Vikram Jardosh, Meenakshi Lekhi, Annapurna Devi, A Narayanaswamy and Kaushal Kishore, Ajay Bhatt, B L Verma, Ajay Kumar, Chauhan Devusinh and Anupriya Patel of Apna Dal were sworn in as the Ministers of State. Besides, BJP leaders Kapil Patil, Subhash Sarkar, Bharati Pawar, Bishweswar Tudu, Shantanu Thakur, John Barala, L Murugan and Nisith Pramanik and others also took oath as Ministers of State.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Home minister Amit Shah, BJP President J P Nadda and several Union Ministers. This is the first Cabinet expansion of the Narendra Modi government in the second tenure.

AIR Correspondent reports, with today’s expansion of the Council of Ministers, the Narendra Modi government has a record representation of OBC, SC and ST communities. 27 OBC Ministers including 5 with Cabinet rank, 12 ministers from scheduled caste communities and eight from scheduled tribes are now in the Union Council of Ministers. Women representation has also increased with the induction of new faces. Five leaders of the minority community are now ministers in the Modi government.

Besides, the Cabinet expansion also witnessed a fine balance of young and experienced leaders. In the expanded Council of Ministers, 14 ministers are below the age of 50 years including six cabinet ministers. There are 46 leaders with experience of being ministers in the Central Government and 23 who have been elected to the Parliament three or more times. Professionals with educational and functional experience have also found a place.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated all the colleagues who have taken oath today and wished them the very best for their ministerial tenure. In a tweet, Mr Modi said, they will continue working to fulfil aspirations of the people and build a strong and prosperous India.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies   

About the author

Avatar photo

The Dispatch Staff

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment