Treat school buses as non-commercial buses: JKJCCPS to Govt

Jammu and Kashmir Joint Coordination Committee of Private Schools (JKJCCPS) has urged government to treat school buses as non-commercial buses.

JKJCCPS, in a meeting, said school authorities provide bus services to the students to facilitate their smooth transportation on no-profit no-loss basis and as such buses should not attract taxes and premiums as per the commercial buses guidelines.

JKJCCPS held its Managing Committee and Advisory Board Members meeting on Thursday at its Rajbagh Radio Colony Office in Srinagar in which many issues confronting functioning of the private schools were discussed.

The meeting was chaired by Dr. C L Vishen and attended by JKJCCPS Patron Mohammad Ashraf Jan, President Showkat M Chowdhary, Vice Presidents G N Parry and Iqbal Beigh besides other MC members.

They urged government to treat the school buses as non-commercial buses and also impress upon the insurance companies to charge premiums accordingly.

The members said insurance companies should charge the premium of the year for nine months only as the schools buses don’t ply during three months of the winter break in Kashmir.

The members also discussed the transportation of the students to the picnic spots during which they said traffic police stops them unnecessarily during day hours.

They said the school buses should be treated as ambulances and should be allowed free movement.

The members also sought intervention of the financial institutes towards Private Schools by charging low rate of interest to them on school buses which they said are not for commercial purposes.

The members also said that government should implement Supreme Court guidelines regarding seating arrangements of the students in the buses, which should be allowed as 1:1.5 ratio bases.

The JKJCCPS also urged government to take on board private sector as one of the stake-holders and give a representation to it in decision making with respect to education of children.

The meeting was also attended by executive members and advisory board members that include Tariq Ahmad Baktoo, M. Y. Manzar, Altaf Gowher, Imtiyaz Ahmad, Syed Sajjad, Akhter Hussain, Abdul Hamid, Suhail Ahmad, Zubair Ahmad Nawchoo, Fayaz Ahmad, Nazir Ahmad (Bonvent School), Niyaz Ahmad Khan, Faisal Agha, Rayaz Rahgeer, Qazi Mushtaq, Basharat Ahmad, Dist President Srinagar, Javaid Iqbal (Dist. Secretary).


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies