TDP to initiate no trust motion debate at 11 am


As the main mover of the no-confidence motion against the Modi government, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) will initiate the debate on it in the Lok Sabha on Friday.

Earlier on Thursday, Mallikarjun Kharge, the Leader of the Congress in the Lok Sabha said 12 Opposition parties have agreed to bring a no trust motion against the Modi government to raise issues ranging from mob lynching to agrarian distress and foreign affairs.

TDP has been allocated 13 minutes by the speaker. Jaydev Galla will be the first speaker of the party, followed by Rammohan Naidu.

Congress, the main opposition party, has been allocated 38 minutes to present its views on the motion. Congress chief Rahul Gandhi and the leader of the party in the House, Mallikarjun Kharge, are likely to speak on it.

Other opposition parties such as the AIADMK, Trinamool Congress (TMC), Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) have been allocated 29 minutes, 27 minutes, 15 minutes and nine minutes respectively.

The ruling BJP, which enjoys a majority in the House, has been given 3 hours and 33 minutes in the debate, which is scheduled for seven hours.

Taking a dig at Gandhi, BJP general secretary Ram Madhav tweeted, saying 38 minutes were allocated for an earthquake in the House and 13 minutes for the mover of the motion.

He was referring to the Congress chief’s earlier remarks that if he spoke, there would be an earthquake in the House.

Both the camps have expressed their confidence in getting the numbers in favour of them. The major ally of Modi government, the Shiv Sena is yet to announce their decision.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here