The Lead

Shri Mata Vaishno Devi and 29 other Constituencies to remember, 19 names to forget

Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Bhawan | Image is representational
Smallest of all Constituencies in Jammu and Kashmir with a vote count of 73648, the Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Constituency will have 23% SC votes and 15% ST (Gujjar and Bakerwal) votes.

JAMMU: Along with its primary job of allocating seven new Constituencies, as provided by the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act of 2019, the Delimitation Commission has done fresh cartography of almost all 90 Assembly segments naming 28 new Constituencies, reconfiguring, merging or deleting 19 existing from the existing list of 1994-95 delimitation.

Among the newly named Constituencies, the one which evoked the most curiosity is the Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Constituency, named after the revered cave shrine in Reasi district. This constituency has been carved out by taking off parts of the Gool Arnas and Reasi Constituencies in the same district. While Reasi has been allowed to continue, the Gool Arnas Constituency has been deleted altogether.

The Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Constituency has been carved out by taking together Katra tehsil, Bhomag tehsil, part of Reasi tehsil and Panchayats of Bhabar Brahmna, Bhaga Kotli and Kotli Bajalian.

Smallest of all Constituencies in Jammu and Kashmir with a vote count of 73648, the Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Constituency will have 23% SC votes and 15% ST (Gujjar and Bakerwal) votes.

Even after internal reconfiguration, the Reasi district continues with three Constituencies as earlier. These are: Shri Mata Vaishno Devi, Reasi and Mahore. Mahore has been declared reserved for the Scheduled Tribes.

CONSTITUENCIES TO REMEMBER Shri Mata Vaishno Devi, Ramgarh, Kathua South, Kathua North, Jammu South, Bahu, Bhawlal-Nagrota, Jammu North, Khour, Kalakote-Sunderbani, Mughal Maidan, Paddar, Doda West, Udhampur West, Udhampur East, Zainapora, Larnoo, Anantnag West, Anantnag East, Nowshera, Thanna Mandi, Trehgam, Rohama-Rafiabad, Kunzer, South Srinagar, Chanapora, Zoonimar and Central Shalteng.

JAMMU DISTRICT: In Jammu district, Jammu South, Bahu, Bhalwal-Nagrota, Jammu North and Khour are the new constituencies which have come up. While the number of Assembly constituencies in Jammu district remains the same at 11, the Constituencies which have disappeared are Chhamb, Raipur Domana, Suchetgarh, Gandhi Nagar and Nagrota. Bishnah, RS Pura, Jammu East, Jammu West, Marh and Akhnoor retain their nomenclature.

KATHUA DISTRICT:  Comprised of six Constituencies instead of existing five, Kathua shall have Bani, Billawar, Basohli, Kathua North, Kathua South and Hiranagar. Kathua North and Kathua South are the new Constituencies.

SAMBA DISTRICT: Among the smallest districts, Samba is comprised of three Constituencies viz Samba, Vijaypur and Ramgarh. Ramgarh is the new Constituency.

UDHAMPUR DISTRICT: The names of Constituencies in Udhampur district are Udhampur West, Udhampur East, Chenani and Ramnagar. Udhampur now has four Constituencies instead of three earlier.

Also Read: Delimitation: The actual surprise is in how Lok Sabha Constituencies have been packaged

RAJOURI DISTRICT: With the addition of one new Constituency and internal reconfiguration of the existing four, the Rajouri district now has following Constituencies: Rajouri, Thannamandi, Darhal, Nowshera, Sunderbani-Kalakote.

POONCH DISTRICT: Poonch has undergone significant internal cartographic changes but the number and names of the Constituencies remains the same: Mendhar, Surankote and Poonch Haveli.

DODA DISTRICT: With the addition of a new Constituency, the Doda district now has the following Constituencies: Bhaderwah, Doda and Doda West.

RAMBAN DISTRICT: Ramban has also undergone internal cartographic changes but the number and names of the Constituencies remains the same: Ramban and Banihal.

KISHTWAR DISTRICT: With the addition of new Constituencies and heavy changes among the existing boundaries, the three Constituencies in Kishtwar district are: Mughal Maidan, Kishtwar and Paddar. While Mughal Maidan and Paddar are new, Inderwal Constituency has been deleted.

Also Read: Delimitation: ST reservation pattern fuels speculations among Gujjars, Paharis

SRINAGAR DISTRICT: While the number of Assembly Constituencies in Srinagar district remains the same, there is massive change in the cartography and the names to appear as follows: Hazratbal, Khanyar, South Srinagar, Sonwar, Chanpora, Zoonimar, Eidgah and Central Shalteng.

BADGAM DISTRICT: The Badgam district has not undergone many major cartographic or nomenclature changes and the five constituencies remains the same –Khan Sahab, Charar Sharief, Chadoora, Badgam and Beerwah.

GANDERBAL DISTRICT: The Ganderbal district, in central Kashmir, has undergone cartographic changes but the names of Constituencies remain the same as Ganderbal and Gangan.

BANDIPORE DISTRICT: Bandipore district is comprised of Bandipore, Sonwari and Gurez Constituencies as they existed before. There are no nomenclature changes.

KUPWARA DISTRICT: With additional of one new Constituency, the six Constituencies in Kupwara are following: Karnah, Kupwara, Trehgam, Lolab, Handwara and Langate.

BARAMULLA DISTRICT: The Baramulla district has undergone significant changes in nomenclature and cartography to have the following seven Constituencies: Sopore, Rohama-Rafiabad, Uri, Baramulla, Tangmarg, Kunzer and Pattan.

PULWAMA DISTRICT: The name and number of Constituencies in Pulwama district remain the same as Pampore, Tral, Pulwama and Rajpora.

SHOPIAN DISTRICT: With the change in nomenclature and cartography, the Shopian district has the following Constituencies –Zainpura and Shopian.

KULGAM DISTRICT: Kulgam district has the following Constituencies –Kulgam, Damhal Hanjipora and Devsar.

ANANTNAG DISTRICT: With the significant change in nomenclature and cartography, the Anantnag district has the following Constituencies: Dooru, Larnoo, Anantnag West, Anantnag, Bijbehara, Anantnag East and Pahalgam.

NAMES TO FORGET Kalakote, Chhamb, Raipur-Domana, Suchegtarh, Gandhi Nagar, Nagrota, Gool Arnas, Gulabgarh, Inderwal, Shangus, Kokernag, Homeshaulibugh, Noorabad, Wachi, Batamalloo, Hazratbal, Zadibal, Gulmarg and Sangrama



The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies   

About the author

Avatar photo

Zafar Choudhary

A journalist since 1999, Zafar Choudhary is also a policy analyst and author. An alumni of the London School of Economics, his book ‘Kashmir Conflict and Muslims of Jammu’ addresses a critical gap in scholarship on Kashmir. Zafar is founder and editor of The Dispatch

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment