SAARC Secy General Esala Ruwan Weerakoon to meet Foreign Secy Harshvardhan Shringla today

Secretary General of SAARC Esala Ruwan Weerakoon will meet Foreign Secretary Harshvardhan Shringla in New Delhi. He will also meet Dr. Rajkumar Ranjan Singh, Minister of State for External Affairs during his week-long visit to India. The South Asian Association of Regional Cooperation or SAARC was created in 1985 as a regional grouping.

Presently, there are eight member countries in SAARC namely Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Maldives, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. SAARC is an expression of the region’s collective decision to evolve a regional cooperative framework. Mr. Weerakoon is a Sri Lankan diplomat and assumed charge as the Secretary-General of the SAARC in March 2020.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies   

About the author

Avatar photo

The Dispatch Staff

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment