The Lead

Prez medal for Rana, Kumar as 42 J&K cops get Police Medals. Full list inside

Prez medal for Rana, Kumar as 42 J&K cops get Police Medals. Full list inside
Prez medal for Rana, Kumar as 42 J&K cops get Police Medals. Full list inside

JAMMU: The Jammu and Kashmir Police have bagged the maximum number of gallantry honours among the union territories of the country with 25 medals to its name, even as its tally of awards in different categories announced on the eve of Republic Day rose to 42.

Besides the 25 gallantry medals, second only to Maharashtra’s 31, the tally for the Union Territory police, thickly involved in counter-terrorist operations in the Kashmir Valley, also includes 2 President’s Police Medal (PPM) for Distinguished Services and 11 Police Medal (PM) for Meritorious Services, besides 2 each in Fire Services Medals and Home Guard & Civil Defence Medals.

The Union Ministry of Home Affairs announced the Medals in different categories on the eve of Republic Day on Wednesday.

From Jammu and Kashmir, 25 police personnel have been awarded with the Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG). The top decoration has been awarded to SSP G V Sundeep Chakravarthy, SP Shazaad Ahmed Salaria, SDPO Furqan Qadir, Deputy SP Sheezan Bhat, Inspectors Amjad Hussain Mir and Khalid Fayaz Math; ASIs Mushtaq Ahmed Bhat, Abdul Rashid, Abdul Hameed Reshi, Mohammed Yusuf Malik, Lateef Ahmad Ganai; Head Constables Harpaul Singh, Asgar Ali, Mohammad Abbas Wani, Abdul Hamid; Constables Tariq Ahmad Ganie, Imran Ali Sofi, Waseem Mohi-ud-din Lone, Bilal Ahmad Wani, Sheeraz Ahmad Ganie, Mohammad Rafiq Dar, Veerinder Manhas; and Selection Grade Constables Charan Singh Charak, Parveez Ahmed Khan, and Fayaz Ahmed Ganie.

Danish Rana, ADGP (coordination), PHQ, and Vijay Kumar ADGP Kashmir zone have been awarded with President’s Police Medal (PPM) for distinguished services, whereas police medal (PM) for meritorious services have been honoured on 11 police personnel.

The recipients of the Police Medal (PM) for Meritorious Service are Mohammad Yousif, SP Awantipora, Amarjit Singh, SSP, SO to Spl DG Crime, Syed Al Tahir Gilani, SP West zone Srinagar, Ajaz Ahmed Zargar, SP Jammu, Mohammad Syed Shah, SP (S) PHQ, Sanjay Kumar Sharma, SP, Rural Jammu, Pushapjeet Singh, Inspector, SKPA Udhampur, Sanjeev Bakshi, Inspector, Police Hospital, Jammu, Gulzar Ahmad Malik, Inspector ACB Jammu, Bagwan Singh Bandra, SI (M) PHQ, and Abdul Gaffar Hajam, Head Constable, SDRF 1 battalion, Baghat Barzulla Srinagar.

Fireman Bashir Ahmad Ahanger and Selection Grade Fireman Firdous Ahmad Khan have been awarded with Fire Service Medals for Gallantary, whereas Head Constable (HG) Sudhir Kumar and Selection Grade Constable (HG) Surjeet Singh have been honoured with Home Guards & Civil Defence Medal For Meritorious Service.

The Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) that is also deployed in the Union Territory for counter-terror duties apart from being the lead force in anti-Naxal operations continued its streak of getting the largest multi-theatre gallantry medals as it has been decorated with 48 Police Medals for Gallantry, 5 PPMs and 58 PMs.

Among the central forces, the Border Security Force (BSF) got 7 PMG, 5 PPMs and 47 PMs, while CISF bagged 1 PMG, 2 PPMs and 24 PMs. None of the other CAPFs were awarded any PMGs.

Overall, a total of 901 police medals have been declared on the eve of the Republic Day that includes 140 PMGs, 93 PPMs and 668 PMs. These police bravery awards are declared biannually on the eve of the Republic Day and Independence Day.



The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies   
Prez medal for Rana, Kumar as 42 J&K cops get Police Medals. Full list inside