The Lead The Newsfeed

PC gets boost, 2 former MPs, DDC chairperson, ex-MLC join party

SRINAGAR: In a major boost to Peoples Conference (PC), two former MPs, Fayaz Ahmad Mir and Nazir Ahmad Laway, Chairperson District Development Council Baramulla, Safina Baig, former MLC Murtaza Khan and former deputy mayor Sheikh Imran joined the party on Saturday here.

Addressing a news conference here, PC chairman Sajad Gani Lone, who was flanked by the party leaders, said the PC will come up to the expectations of people.

“I wholeheartedly welcome all leaders in the party. I am hopeful that the way the party is expanding, PC will emerge as a collective team to meet the challenges confronted by the people of Jammu & Kashmir,” he said.

In the last assembly election, Fayaz Ahmad Mir secured 24603 votes from Kupwara Assembly segment but lost to PC’s Bashir Ahmad Dar by a wafer-thin margin of 151 votes.

Nazir Ahmad Laway, who fought election from Kulgam assembly segment in 2014 state polls, polled 20240 votes but lost to CPI (M) leader MY Tarigami by a thin margin.

Safina Baigh contested the last year’s DDC chairperson from Baramulla and was elected as head of the council with support of Peoples Conference, which emerged as the single largest party in the district.

Those who present in the press conference included Imran Reza Ansari, Abdul Gani Vakil, Syed Basharat Bukhari, Peerzada Mansoor, Khursheed Alam, Raja Ejaz Ali, Irfan Panditpuri, Bashir Ahmad Dar, and others—(KNO)


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies