In view of the second wave of Covid-19 in the country, the Uttarakhand government on Tuesday announced that a negative Covid-19 RT-PCR test report will be mandatory for those arriving from 12 states including Maharashtra, Kerala, Punjab, Delhi and Uttar Pradesh from 1 April.

“Persons travelling from states namely — Maharashtra, Kerala, Punjab. Karnataka, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Gujarat, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi and Rajasthan by road, air and train to Uttarakhand are advised to carry negative RT-PCR test report,” said a statement issued by the Uttarakhand government. The statement further said that the test report should not be older than 72 hours.

“Persons coming from above-mentioned states as well as persons residing in Uttarakhand shall strictly adhere to the norms of safety and social distancing as per the guidelines of Ministry of Home Affairs, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare and state government. Violation of norms shall be liable under the relevant provision of Disaster Management Act 2005, Epidemics Act 1897 and sections of IPC,” the statement said.

According to the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, there are 1724 active cases in the state.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies