National Film Awards – 2019 announced; ‘Marakkar-Arabikkadalinte-Simham’ bags Best Feature Film award

The 67th National Film Awards – 2019 were announced yesterday. Malayalam movie Marakkar Arabikkadilinte Simham directed by Priyadarshan will be awarded the Best Feature Film Award. Announcing the awards, Chairman of the Feature Films Jury N Chandra said, Sanjay Puran Singh Chauhan will be given best Direction Award for Hindi film Bahattar Hoorain. He said, actor Manoj Bajpayee will be awarded best Actor award for Hindi movie Bhonsle and Dhanush will get the award for Tamil Movie Asuran.
Mr Chandra said, Kangana Ranaut will get Best Actress award for her movies Manikarnika -The Queen of Jhansi and Panga. Vijaya Sethupati will be awarded the best supporting actor award for Tamil film Super Deluxe and Pallavi Joshi will get the best supporting actress award for Hindi film The Tashkent Files. B Praak will get the Best Male playback Singer award for song Teri Mitti in Hindi Film Kesari. Savani Ravindra will be awarded Best Female playback Singer award for song Rann Petala in Marathi Movie Bardo. D Imman will get best Music Direction Award for his songs in Tamil Fim Vishwasam.
Prabuddha Banerjee will get the award for background music in Bengali movie Jeyesthaputro. Prabha Varma will get the Best Lyrics award for Malayalam movie Kolaambi. Raju Sundaram bagged the Best Choreography award for Telugu Movie Maharshi. The award for the most film friendly state goes to Sikkim. Best Non Feature Film will be awarded to Hemant Gaba’s An Engineered Dream. The award for the best film critic goes to ‘Sohini Chattopadhyay.
In Non Feature Film category, Best Animation Film to be awarded to Radha. Best Art and Culture film award will be given to Shrikhetra ru Sahijata (Odia). The Award for the best Narration for Non-Feature Films goes to Wild Karnataka (English) by Sir David Attenborough. The award for the Best Music Direction in Non-Feature Films goes to Kranti Darshi Guruji- Ahead Of Times (Hindi) by Bishakhjyoti. The best book on cinema goes to A Gandhian Affair: India’s Curious Portrayal of Love in Cinema written by Sanjay Suri.
Ronuwa – Who Never Surrender has been selected as the best Assamese Film. Srijit Mukherjee’s Gumnaami will be awarded as Best Bengali Film. Chhichore has been selected as best Hindi film. Best Kannada film is Akshi directed by Manoj Kumar and Best Konkani fillm is Kaajro directed by Nitin Bhaskar. Bhimrao Mude’s Bardo has been selected as the best Marathi film.
Best Malayalam film is Kalla Nottam and Best Manipuri Film is Eigi Kona. Two Films have been selected for Best Odia Film Award. They are Sala Budhar Badla directed by Dr Sabyasachi Mohapatra and Kalira Atita Directed by Nila Madhab Panda. Best Punjabi Film is Rab Da Radio 2, Best Tamil film is Asuran and Best Telugu film is Jersey.     


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies