Jharkhand BJP chief resigns following party’s defeat in Assembly polls


Following BJP’s drubbing in the Jharkhand Assembly election, the party’s state president Laxman Giluwa submitted his resignation on Wednesday.

“Due to the party performance falling below expectations in Vidhan Sabha elections 2019 the party’s state president Laxman Giluwa has submitted his resignation to the national president taking responsibility for the defeat,” read a letter issued by the state party’s head Hemant Das.

The BJP only managed to win 25 seats in the 81-seat assembly. On the other hand, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)-led alliance, which also comprises of Congress and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), bagged 49 seats paving way for their government formation in the state.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies   

TheDispatch Staff