The Newsfeed

India wins Blind T20 world cup for third time

New Delhi: India defeated Bangladesh by 120 to secure their third T20 World Cup for the Blind at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Saturday, December 17.

Opting to bat first, India posted 277 runs on the board for the loss of two wickets in their allotted 20 overs. Sunil Ramesh (136 not off 63) and captain Ajay Kumar Reddy (100 not out off 50) added a record 247-run stand for the third wicket in the tournament finale after the defending champions lost their first two wickets for just 29.

Chasing India’s mammoth total, Bangladesh could manage only 157/3 and lost the contest by 120 runs. For India, Lalit Meena and Ajay Kumar grabbed one wicket each.

Australia, Bangladesh, Nepal, South Africa, and Sri Lanka competed in the third edition of the competition, which was hosted by India. The Men in Blue, who had previously won the title in 2012 and 2017, completed a hat-trick of wins by defeating Bangladesh in the final.

The champions were ruthless throughout the competition and entered the title game fresh off a crushing victory over South Africa. At the Samprasiddhi Sports Ground in Bangalore, India trounced the Proteas by a huge margin of 207 runs after setting a record-breaking target of 338 runs.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies