DDC’s J&K poll, Implementation of lockdown, reopening of livelihood kept MHA busy in 2020
The Lead

Independence Day 2021: 1380 police personnel awarded medals, announces MHA

Independence Day 2021: 1380 police personnel awarded medals, announces MHA

The Union ministry of home affairs (MHA) announced on Saturday that 1380 police personnel have been awarded medals on the occasion of 75th Independence Day, which will be observed on Sunday. The recipients have been awarded with medals such as the President’s Police Medal for Gallantry (PPMG), Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG), President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service (PPMDS) and Police Medal for Meritorious Services (PMMS), among others, the ministry noted in a statement.

Total 628 personnel have received the Gallantry Awards, a break-up of medals showed. “Among the majority of these awardees, 1 PPMG each is being awarded to the Jammu and Kashmir Police and the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF). 398 personnel have been decorated for their gallant action in the Jammu and Kashmir region, 155 for their gallant action in the Left-Wing Extremism affected areas, and 27 for their gallant action in the northeast,” the MHA statement read.

“Among the awardees, 256 are from the J&K Police, 151 from the CRPF, 20 from the ITBP, and 67, 25 and 20 from the Odisha, Maharashtra and Chhattisgarh Police respectively. The remainder are from other states/UTs and Central Armed Police Forces,” it added.

Significantly, the 20 personnel from the Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP), which guards India’s border with China, have been awarded for their bravery in thwarting Chinese aggression in eastern Ladakh, along with the Army. Three others have received the PMG for anti-Naxal operations in Chhattisgarh, taking the total number of awardees from the force to 23, the ITBP said in a statement.

“This is the highest number of gallantry medals awarded to the ITBP for the bravery of its men in border face off/skirmishes/border guarding duties. The awardees include personnel involved in action at the Galwan Nalla on 15 June, 2020, as well as those involved in the violent faceoff in the Finger 4 area and Hot Springs, on 18 May, 2020,” the ITBP statement read.

The full list of police medal awardees can be accessed here.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies   
Independence Day 2021: 1380 police personnel awarded medals, announces MHA