The Newsfeed

Govt shares list of 50 cities, towns where 5G services have started

Govt shares list of 50 cities, towns where 5G services have started
5G Network

New Delhi: The Government on Wednesday informed Lok Sabha that 5G services have started in 50 towns across 14 states and UTs.

As many as 33 towns out of the 50 where 5G services have started are in Gujarat. The list includes three towns from Maharashtra and two each from West Bengal and Uttar Pradesh.

State, UT wise list of towns and cities where 5G services have started on November 26, 2022:

Delhi, Mumbai, Nagpur, Pune, Kolkata, Siliguri, Varanasi, Lucknow, Chennai, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Visakhapatnam, Patna, Kochi, Guwahati, Panipat, Ahmedabad, Gandhinagar, Bhavnagar, Mehsana, Rajkot, Surat, Vadodara, Amreli Botad, Junagadh, Porbandar, Veraval, Himatnagar, Modasa, Palanpur, Patan, Bhuj, Jamnagar, Khambhalia, Morvi, Wadhwan, Ahwa, Bharuch, Navsari, Rajpipla Valsad, Vyara, Anand, Chota Udaipur, Dohad, Godhra, Lunawada and Nadiad.

Rolling out of 5G Network:

Telecom Service Providers (TSPs) have started providing 5G services in the country from October 1, 2022 onwards and as of November 26, 2022, 5G services have started in 50 towns distributed over 14 States and UTs.
As per the Notice Inviting Application (NIA) dated 15-06-2022 for auction of spectrum and the license conditions, the rollout obligations are required to be met over a period of five years, in a phased manner, from the date of allocation of spectrum.

Further expansion of mobile networks beyond the mandatory rollout obligations, depends on the techno-commercial consideration of the Telecom Service Providers (TSPs).

Department of Telecommunications (DoT) has notified the Indian Telegraph (Amendment) Rules 2017 enabling Mandatory Testing and Certification of Telecommunication Equipment (MTCTE), which prescribes that any telegraph which is used or capable of being used with any telegraph established, maintained or worked under the licence granted by the Central Government in accordance with the provisions of section 4 of the Indian Telegraph Act, 1885, shall have to undergo prior mandatory testing and certification in respect of parameters as determined by the telegraph authority from time to time.

Further, DoT has issued amendment in Telecom Licenses on 10.03.2021, wherein, all Licensees have been directed to connect only Trusted Products in their telecom networks with effect from 15.06.2021. The amendment has been issued to implement the provisions of National Security Directive on Telecommunication Sector (NSDTS). It aims to establish a mechanism for sourcing of telecommunication equipment only from trusted sources to enhance the security of telecom networks and to address the national security concerns.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies