The Newsfeed

Former Law Minister Ashwani Kumar resigns from Congress

India hits out at Pakistan at UN, says perpetrators of Mumbai, Pathankot, Pulwama terror attacks enjoying State support
Former Law Minister Ashwani Kumar resigns from Congress

New Delhi: Former Law Minister Ashwani Kumar on Tuesday resigned from the Congress, ending his 46-year-long association with the grand old party.
Kumar sent his resignation to Congress President Sonia Gandhi this morning, saying he can best serve national causes outside the party fold.
“Having given my thoughtful consideration to the matter, I have concluded that in the present circumstances and consistent with my dignity, I can best subserve larger national causes outside the party fold,” Kumar said in his resignation letter.
“I am accordingly quitting the party after a long association of 46 years and hope to proactively pursue public causes inspired by the idea of transformative leadership, based on the dignitarian promise of a liberal democracy envisioned by our freedom fighters,” the former Rajya Sabha MP also said.
Kumar leaves in the midst of assembly polls in five states and ahead of the February 20 election in Punjab.
His resignation comes close on the heels of a spate of resignations, the most recent being that of another former union minister R P N Singh.
A number of party leaders have quit the Congress in the recent past. These include Jyotiraditya Scindia, Jitin Prasada, Sushmita Dev and Louisinho Faleiro.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies   
Former Law Minister Ashwani Kumar resigns from Congress