Former Cabinet Minister, 5 MLAs of Trinamool Congress join BJP in New Delhi

In West Bengal, six leaders including former Cabinet Minister and MLAs of the Trinamool Congress joined BJP in New Delhi last night. They are former minister Rajib Bandhopadhyay, MLAs Baishali Dalmiya and Prabir Ghosal, former MLA Parthasarathi Chattopadhyay, former mayor Rathin Chakraborty and actor Rudranil Ghosh. They met Home Minister Amit Shah at his residence before formally joining the party. Mr Shah welcomed them in BJP in the presence of senior leaders Kailash Vijaybargiya and Mukul Roy.

Rajib Bandopadhyay, former Minister of Mamata Banerjee cabinet, had resigned from the state Legislative Assembly as well as from TMC on Friday. MLA of Bally constituency Baisali Dalmiya had been expelled from the TMC whereas Parthasarathi Chatterjee was removed from the post of Vice President of the party unit of Nadia district. MLA of Uttarpara constituency Prabir Ghosal, ex Mayor of Howrah Rathin Chakraborty and actor Rudranil Ghosh were among the TMC leaders who left the party yesterday.

Meanwhile, Union Minister Smriti Irani will be taking part in the BJP rally at Dumurjola in Howrah today. The rally was earlier scheduled to be addressed by Mr Shah. Rajib Bandhyopadhya said, Mr Shah will be participating in the rally virtually where some more leaders are supposed to join their camp from TMC.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies