Etihad announces visa on arrival for passengers from 70 countries. India not on the list

Etihad airways of Abu Dhabi has updated its travel rules for international passengers coming to the country. It has announced to issue visas on arrival for passengers arriving from 70 countries.

According to a news report in The Siasat Daily, Etihad said that travellers can enter Abu Dhabi if they are citizens or residents of the United Arab Emirates, or if they qualify for a visa on arrival. The countries that will be eligible for visa on arrival are:

Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Honduras, Hong Kong (SAR of China), Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, People’s Republic of China, Peru, Poland, Republic of Mauritius, Republic of El Salvador,  Portugal, Romania, Russian, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Vatican, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America, and Uruguay.

India is excluded from the above list. Etihad said Indians will be allowed to enter Abu Dhabi only if they fulfill any of the following conditions:

– Citizen, golden/silver visa holder or diplomat.
– Fully vaccinated resident of the UAE – you must have proof of having received both doses of the COVID-19       vaccine within the UAE no less than 14 days before travel.
– Medical personnel, education sector workers or students studying in the UAE.
– Travelling for medical reasons.
– A federal government agency worker.

However, according to the publication, Indian nationals holding US visitor visa or green card are eligible for visa on arrival in Abu Dhabi. Even Indian nationals having UK or EU residency valid for at least 6 months can enter the country.

Domestic helpers allowed

Etihad further added that domestic helpers are allowed to enter the country if they travel with a sponsor from the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries or a direct member of the sponsor’s family.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies   

About the author

Avatar photo

The Dispatch Staff

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment