The Newsfeed

Elections for DDC Chairman in Kulgam: Most members await PAGD decision


CPI-M, NC in race to grab chairman seat

Kulgam, Feb 03: The elections for DDC chairman seat in Kulgam district is scheduled to be held on February 06, but most members are still waiting for PAGD decision in this regard.

Several DDC elected members told news agency—that they are still waiting for the decision of PAGD and after that, any decision will be taken.

Senior leader of CPIM and former MLA Kulgam M Y Tarigami said that winning parties of the district are meeting on February 05 and after that any decision will be taken.

Asked who the candidate of the party was if chairman will be from CPI-M, he said that after all party meeting, “our district leaders of the party will meet and take final decision in this regard.”

It is pertinent to mention here CPI-M has won five DDC seats and winners include Mohammed Afzal from Pombai, M Abbas Rather, Akhthera, Gh Mohidin Lone and Ruby Jan.

Former MLA Homeshalibugh and District President National Conference Ab Majeed Larmi said that they will follow all directions of PAGD and Chairman here from PAGD.

He said it hardly matters for them with whosoever party candidate will belong but chairman will be from PAGD.

Notably, five NC candidates namely Mohammed Ibrahim from Pahloo, Ishtiyak Ganaie from Devsar A, Jameela Akhther from DH Pora, Shazia Poswal from Manzgam and Romey Jan from Qaimoh A have won DDC elections on NC ticket.

Gulzar Ahmad Sheikh who won DDC elections on PDP from Kund seat told Kashmir news observer that he is waiting for PAGD decision in this regard and whatever directions we will have in this regard will follow in letter and spirit.

Besides Gulzar Ahmad Sheikh, Gulzar Ahmad Dar from Dk Marg has won DDC elections on PDP ticket in Kulgam district.

Anayatullah Rather, Congress leader from Kulgam who has won DDC election from Frisal said that Congress has two candidates and they can’t get chairman seat.

He said they will be part of the meeting on February 05 and after that any decision will be taken.

Besides Anayatullah Rather,  Riyaz Ahmad from Devsar B has won DDC elections on Congress ticket.

Sources said that National Conference and CPIM who both have 5 seats are in race to get the chairman seat.

They said that it is likely that one among Mohammed Abbas Rather who is PG MPhil in English and has won on CPIM ticket and Jameela Akhther who has won on NC ticket from DH Pora will be chairman of the DDC council in Kulgam


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies