The Lead The Newsfeed

District Development Council Srinagar elects chairperson, vice chairperson

Malik Aftab (10 votes) elected as chairperson, Bilal Ahmad Bhat (9 votes) elected as vice chairperson: DEO Srinagar

SRINAGAR, FEBRUARY 06: The chairperson and the vice chairperson of the District Development Council (DDC) Srinagar were elected Saturday in a meeting of the elected DDC members convened here under the chairmanship of the District Election Officer (District Development Commissioner) Srinagar Dr Shahid Iqbal Choudhary.

Malik Aftab with 10 votes was elected as the chairperson whereas Bilal Ahmad Bhat with 9 votes was elected as the vice chairperson of the DDC Srinagar.

DEO Srinagar said that thirteen (13) out of the total fourteen (14) elected DDC members participated in the meeting. He said the elected member from Harwan-IV constituency could not take part in the meeting due to a health condition.

Kaiser Ahmad Ganai with 3 votes and Manzoor Ahmad Bhat with 4 votes were the runners-up in the chairperson and vice chairperson elections respectively.

Dr Shahid said the whole process of the election to the chairperson and vice chairperson positions of the DDC Srinagar was smooth adding that the elections were held in a free and fair manner.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies