Counting also underway for By-Polls to 58 Assembly seats in 11 states; BJP ahead in MP, Gujarat, UP

Counting of votes has begun for bypolls to 58 assembly seats in 11 States.

In Madhya Pradesh, the ruling BJP, which is leading on 20 of the 28 Assembly seats during counting of votes for By-Polls. The BJP appears to be in a strong position to retain power in the state.  The Congress leads on seven seats, while the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate leads on one.

BJP is leading with more than 51 per cent vote share while Congress is getting around 40 per cent votes. The BSP has an edge on one seat with around four per cent of votes.

The BJP has gained about 10 per cent more votes in these By-Elections in comparison to the 2018 Assembly Elections.

As per the current trends, Former Ministers Tulsi Silavat, Govind Singh Rajput, Mahendra Singh Sisodia, Praduman Singh Tomar, Brijendra Singh Yadav, Imarti Devi, Prabhuram Chaudhary, Hardeep Singh Dung, Rajwardhan Singh Dattigaon, Suresh Dhakad and Bisahulal are leading in their respective seats.

At present, the BJP has 107 MLAs in the 230-member Assembly and needs at least eight seats to stay in power. The Congress, on the other hand, needs to win all 28 seats if it wants to return to power.

 In Uttar Pradesh, ruling BJP is leading on five out of seven seats which went for by poll. Initial trends show that BJP is leading  Deoria, Bangarmau, Bulandshahr, Ghatampur and Tundla.  Samajwadi Party is leading on Naugawan Sadaat seat of Amroha district. From here the wife of former cricketer Chetan Chauhan and BJP candidate Sangita Chauhan is trailing.  On Malhani seat of Jaunpur district, independent candidate Dhananjay Singh is leading and SP candidate is on the second spot.

In Gujarat, the ruling BJP is leading in all the eight Assembly Constituencies where By-Polls were held. Former Gujarat Minister and BJP candidate Kiritsinh Rana is leading in Limbdi seat in Surendranagar district. BJP candidates are also maintaining their lead on Abdasa, Dhari, Gadhada SC, Karjan, Dang ST and Kaprada ST seats. BJP candidate Brijesh Merja now leading on Morbi seat with thin margin against Congress candidate.

By-Elections on the eight seats were held following the resignations of Congress MLS early this year.

In Manipur, counting of votes for bypolls to four assembly seats began at 8 this morning. The fate of eleven candidates including the present State Agriculture and Tourism Minister will be known by noon today. The voting for these seats was held on Thursday.

The counting of votes for four seats of Manipur bye election- Wangoi, Saitu, Lilong and Wangjing tentha begin at three district headquarters with strict security arrangement. The counting has begun at six halls of Imphal West, Thoubal and Kangpokpi districts headquarters.

Election enthusiastic and political workers have gathered in and around counting places and are eagerly awaiting the final result. As per ECI instruction, the  concerned district administration has taken up all arrangements for COVID-19 guidelines during the counting of votes.

The State ruling party BJP fielded three candidates while the opposition fielded candidates in all assembly constituencies in the bye election.The Manipur bye election has been seen as a litmus paper test for forthcoming general election 2022 considering the  present strength of ruling BJP and Opposition party- Congress.

Counting for By-Elections of Dumka (ST) and Bermo Assembly Constituency is going on in tight security arrangements. In Dumka, BJP candidate Lios Marandi is trailing by 1,075 votes after the fifth round of counting against Basant Soren of JMM. In Bermo, BJP candidate Yogeswar Mahto is trailing by 410 votes after the fourth round of counting against Kumar Jaimangal Singh of INC.

In Nagaland, independent candidates are leading ahead of the major political parties as per the latest counting trends for By-Polls in the two Assembly constituencies.

Of the five candidates in the fray for Pungro Kiphire seat, an independent candidate T. Yangsea Sangtam has polled 6,880 votes followed by his nearest rival BJP candidate Lirimong Sangtam with 4,310 votes,

While, in Southern Angami-1 Assembly Constituency, Independent candidate Seyievilie Peter Zashumo has polled 2,214 votes followed by the ruling NDPP candidate Medo Yhokha with 1,192 votes.

In Odisha, BJD candidate Bijay Shankar Das is ahead of his nearest rival from the BJP by 5,626 votes in the Tirtol Assembly constituency. Similarly, the BJD candidate Swarup Kumar Das is ahead of his BJP rival by 2,671 votes in the Balasore Sadar Assembly seat.

In Karnataka, BJP is leading in both the Assembly segments where a by-election was held on 3rd of November. In Sira, at the end of round 11, the BJP candidate Dr. C. M. Rajesh Gowda secured 34,068 votes and the Congress candidate T. B. Jayachandra was trailing securing 27,173 votes. In R. R. Nagar, round 12 of counting is over. Munirathna of BJP is leading with a margin of 31,176 votes. He has secured 64,703 votes as against Congress candidate H. Kusuma who has secured 33,527 votes.

The counting for Legislative Council biennial elections to two teachers constituencies – Bangalore Teachers and North East Teachers, and two graduates constituencies – Karnataka West Graduates and Karnataka South East Graduates is also underway. The trends are yet to come for these seats. 

In Telangana, BJP candidate Raghunandan Rao is leading by 2,667 votes over his immediate opponent S. Sujatha, of the ruling TRS party by the end of the sixth round counting in Dubbaka By-Election. The BJP candidate is maintaining his majority from the first round onwards.

The Dubbaka By-Poll was necessitated due to the demise of the sitting TRS MLA Ramalingareddy.  While 23 candidates are in the fray, the main fight is between BJP, TRS and Congress candidates. Dubbaka is the first By-Election held after the TRS resumed power in Telangana in 2019.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies