Explainers & Backgrounders Lists and Timelines

Constituent Assembly of Jammu and Kashmir. Read proclamation and full list of members

Constituent Assembly of Jammu and Kashmir. Read proclamation and full list of members
A group photograph of the Members of the Constituent Assembly of Jammu and Kashmir
Constituent Assembly of Jammu and Kashmir. Read proclamation and full list of members

Under the Instrument of Accession of 1947 and further political negotiations, the State of Jammu and Kashmir, was allowed to have a Constitution of its own. The Constituent Assembly of Jammu and Kashmir was a body of representatives elected in 1951 to formulate the constitution of Jammu and Kashmir. The Constituent Assembly was dissolved on 26 January 1957, based on Mir Qasim resolution it adopted and ratified on 17 November 1956.

Following is the Proclamation of May 1, 1951 on J&K Constituent Assembly issued by Sadr-e-Reyasat, Dr Karan Singh

Whereas it is general desire of the people of the State of Jammu and Kashmir that a Constituent Assembly should be brought into being for the purpose of framing a constitution for the State; Whereas it is commonly felt that the convening of the Assembly can no longer be delayed without detriment to the future well-being of the State. And whereas the terms of the proclamation of the Maharaja dated 5 March, 1948 in regard to the convening of a national assembly as contained in clauses 4 to 6 of the operative part thereof do not meet the requirements of the present situation;

1, Yuvraj Karan Singh, do hereby direct as follows :
A Constituent Assembly consisting of representatives of the people, elected on the basis of adult franchise, shall be constituted forthwith for the purpose of framing a constitution for the State of Jammu and Kashmir;
For the purposes of the said elections the State shall be divided into a number of territorial constituencies, each containing a population of 40,000 or as near thereto as possible, and each electing one member. A delimitation committee shall be set up by the Government to make recommendations as to the number of constituencies and the limits of each constituency;
Elections to the Constituent Assembly shall be on the basis of adult franchise, that is to say, every person who is a State subject of any class, as defined in the notification No……, is not less than twenty-one years of age on the first day of March, has been a resident in the constituency for such period as many be prescribed by the rules, shall be entitled to register in the electoral rolls of that constituency, provided that any person who is of unsound mind or has been so declared by a competent court, shall be disqualified for registration;
The vote at the election shall be by direct and secret ballot ;
The Constituent Assembly shall have power to act notwithstanding any vacancy of the membership thereof ;
The Constituent Assembly shall frame its own agenda and make rules for the governing of its procedure and the conduct of its business.
The Government shall make such rules and issue such instructions and orders as may be necessary to give effect to the terms of this proclamation.

Members of J&K Constituent Assembly

1. Maulana Mohammad Sayeed Masudi, Amira Kadal
2. Sheikh Mohammed Abdullah, Hazratbal
3. Bakshi Ghulam Mohammed Safa, Kadal
4. Mirza Mohammed Afzal Beg, Anantnag
5. Girdhari Lal Dogra, Jasmergarh
6. Sham Lal Saraf, Habba Kadal
7. Abdul Aziz Shawl, Rajouri
8. Abdul Gani Trali, Rajpora
9. Abdul Gani Goni, Bhalesa
10. Syed Abdul Qadus, Biruwa
11. Bakshi Abdul Rashid, Charar-e-Sharief
12. Abdul Kabir Khan, Bandipora (Gurez)
13. Abdul Khaliq, Saniwara
14. Syed Allaudin Gilani, Handwara
15. Assad Ullah Mir, Ramban
16. Bhagat Ram, Lander Tikri
17. Bhagat Chhajju Ram, Ranbirsinghpora
18. Sardar Chela Singh, Chhamb
19. Chuni Lal Kotwal, Bhaderwah
20. Durga Prashad Dhar, Kulgam
21. Ghulam Ahmad Mir, Dachinpara
22. Master Ghulam Ahmed, Haveli
23. Ghulam Ahmad Dev, Doda
24. Pirzada Ghulam Gilani, Pampore
25. Ghulam Hassan Khan, Narwah
26. Ghulam Hassan Bhat, Nandi
27. Ghulam Hassan Malik, Devasar
28. Pir Ghulam Mohammad Masoodi, Tral
29. Ghulam Mohammad Sadiq, Tankipora
30. Mirza Ghulam Mohammad Beg, Naubag Brang Valley
31. Ghulam Mohammad Butt, Pattan
32. Ghulam Mohi-ud-Din Khan, Khansahib
33. Ghulam Mohi-ud-Din Hamdani, Khanyar
34. Mirwaiz Ghulam Nabi Hamdani, Zaddibal
35. Ghulam Nabi Wani, Darihgam
36. Ghulam Nabi Wani, Lolab
37. Ghulam Qadir Bhat, Kangan
38. Ghulam Qadir Masala, Drugmulla
39. Ghulam Rasool Sheikh, Shopian
40. Ghulam Rasool Kar, Hamal
41. Ghulam Rasool Kraipak, Kishtwar
42. Hakim Habibullah Khan, Sopore
43. Hem Raj Jandial, Ramnagar
44. Sardar Harbans Singh Azad, Baramulla
45. Syed Ibrahim Shah, Kargil
46. Ishar Devi Maini, Jammu city (Northern)
47. Janki Nath Kakroo, Kothar
48. Jamal-ud-Din, Darhal
49. Maulvi Jamait Ali Shah, Mendhar
50. Kushak Bakula, Leh
51. Kishen Dev Sethi, Nowshera
52. Sardar Kulbir Singh, Poonch City
53. Mohammad Afzal Khan, Uri
54. Sheikh Mohammad Akbar, Tangmarg
55. Mohammad Anwar Shah, Karnah
56. Mohammad Ayub Khan, Arnas
57. Syed Mohammad Jalali, Badgam
58. Pir Mohd Maqbool Shah Ramhal
59. Syed Mir Qasim, Doru Shahabad
60. Mubarik Shah, Magam
61. Mansukh Rai Reasi
62. Mahant Ram, Basohli
63. Moti Ram Baigra, Udhampur
64. Mahasha Nahar Singh, Bishnah
65. Noor Dar, Kowapora
66. Noor-ud-Din Sufi, Ganderbal
67. Major Piara Singh, Kathua
68. Ram Chand Khajuria, Billawar
69. Lala Ram Piara Saraf, Samba
70. Ram Devi, Jammu city (Southern)
71. Ram Rakha Mal, Kahanachak
72. Wazir Ram Saran, Jandrah Garota
73. Ram Lal, Akhnoor
74. Sagar Singh, Parmandal
75. Sona Ullah Sheikh, Pulwama




The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies   
Constituent Assembly of Jammu and Kashmir. Read proclamation and full list of members