Avian Influenza so far confirmed in 9 States for poultry birds

Avian Influenza have been so far confirmed in nine States for poultry birds. These States are Kerala, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh and Punjab. The disease has also been confirmed in 12 states for Crows, Migratory and Wild birds. 

Avian Influenza commonly known as Bird Flu has been confirmed in poultry samples from Almora district of Uttarakhand and Somnath district of Gujarat. Avian Influenza has been confirmed in crows in the UT of Jammu and Kashmir and in Kaliji Pheasant bird in Tehri range of Uttarakhand.

However, crow samples submitted from Alwar district of Rajasthan have been found negative for Avian Influenza. The Department of Animal Husbandry and Dairying said Control and Containment Operations are going on in the affected epicentres of Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Kerala.

All the States are reporting to the Department on a daily basis regarding the control measures adopted by the states. The Department is also taking continuous efforts to generate awareness about Bird Flu through platforms including social media platforms.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies