The Newsfeed

4000 athletes ran during Jammu Marathon on Sunday Morning

Jammu, March 06: Jammu Marathon, a mega event was organized by Jammu and Kashmir Police under its Civic Action Programme here at Gulshan Ground, this morning. ADGP Jammu Mukesh Singh flagged-off the run. Director General of Police, Dilbag Singh, who presided over the flag-in ceremony, presented awards and prizes among the winners of the event.

 Ashok Bhan (retired DGP), Commandant General HG/CD/SDRF  B. Srinivas, Special  DG CID R R Swain, Special  DG Crime  A.K Choudhary, ADsGP   SJM Gillani, Mukesh Singh,  M.K Sinha, Danesh Rana, IGsP   Vikramjeet Singh and  B S Tuti, DIsG Ms Sarah Rizvi,  Imtiaz Ismail,  Ajit Singh Salaria and Ms Nisha Nathyal, AIsG of PHQ, SSP Jammu, Jammu based Commandants of IRP/JKAP, SP PCR/APCR, Jurisdictional officer and large number of participants attended the ceremony.

Speaking on the occasion, DGP appreciated ADGP Armed  and his team for successful conduct of the event with the participation of thousands of athletes. He said that starting with the small event levels, Civic Action Programmes organized by J and K Police have become the national level events as athletes from across the country are now participating in these events.

He said that he is proud of the fact that J and K Police is leading from the front in organizing the events in almost every sports category to provide a platform to the JK youth adding that a National level T-20 tournament is underway is Kathua and a National level Football Championship is being hosted in Kashmir in coming days. He said that the Kashmir Marathon and Cycle race which was organised earlier in Kashmir witnessed a massive participation from all age groups. DGP congratulated the winners of the event and wished them good luck for the future besides announcing a cash reward for the young kids who performed a Wushu show on the occasion.

DGP also congratulated ADGP Armed and his team for emerging winners in the All India Police

Golf Tournament that was hosted by CRPF at Nodia, Uttar Pradesh. DGP said that Jammu and Kashmir Police has been working in mission mode to consolidate peace in Jammu and Kashmir and added that “we are very near to realize terror free Jammu and Kashmir”, for which he sought continuous cooperation of the people. “Through these events Police and public are together celebrating peace and putting its message across”, he said. He said that it is an overwhelming feeling that normal life, particularly the education of children, was not affected for a single day due to any law and  order situation during the last few years. He said that people are enjoying the fruits of this peace now.

In his welcome address, ADGP Armed  SJM Gillani thanked DGP  and other guests for gracing the event and said that the Jammu Marathon was the 4th major event organised by JK Police under its Civic Action Programme this year. He informed that 4000 athletes including athletes from across the country participated in 11 different categories In 21 Kms half marathon Men category, Ritik Sharma, Pankaj Kumar and Narender Singh won first three positions respectively and in 10 Kms road race Women above 18 category, Rimpy Devi, Gunjan Preet Kour and  Shamshad Bano won first three positions respectively. In the 10 Kms road race for boys U-18, Vishal Sharma, Shamsher Singh & Sunny Sharma won first three positions and in 10 Kms road race for girls U-18, Sakhshi Thakur, Sara Naqash & Mantasha Jan won first three positions respectively.

In 10 Kms for veteran men above 45 years, Ram Raj, Shafat-ul-Bashir  and  Parshotam Lal emerged first three winners respectively while in 10 Kms for veteran women above 45 years, Anuradha, Sonia Sawhney and  Satwant Kour won first three positions respectively.

In 5 Kms sub junior boys U-14, Bharat Kumar, Akhil Kumar, Hashim Riyaz, Parul Kumar and  Mohd Imran won first five positions respectively and in 04 kms sub junior girls U-14, Komal, Anjali Devi, Hiranya Mahajan, Pratiba Devi and Mahika Sharma won first 5 position respectively. Similarly, in 02 Kms for specially abled (Male), Makhan Lal, Ranjesh Singh, Tushar Kundan, Akash Singh and Mohammad Ubair won first five position respectively and in 02 Kms for specially abled (female), Komal Shamra, Anu Sharma, Disha Devi, Guria and Damani Sharma won first five positions.

Abhinandan Jain, 69 years, was the oldest participant in men and Renu Rajaram was the oldest women athlete. Vivansh Dhar 5 years and S. Tapasya 6 years were boy and girl participants respectively.


The Dispatch is present across a number of social media platforms. Subscribe to our YouTube channel for exciting videos; join us on Facebook, Intagram and Twitter for quick updates and discussions. We are also available on the Telegram. Follow us on Pinterest for thousands of pictures and graphics. We care to respond to text messages on WhatsApp at 8082480136 [No calls accepted]. To contribute an article or pitch a story idea, write to us at [email protected] |Click to know more about The Dispatch, our standards and policies